Our Wellbeing Offer

Re-energise and Reset

We’d like to highlight the free and confidential services that are offered to each trust employee. This wellbeing offer is provided for staff of The Marches Academy Trust only. If you are not a member of the Trust please contact your employer to find out what provision they have made for your health and wellbeing services.


SAS (Schools Advisory Service)

The Schools Advisory Service have been established since 1997 and is the UK’s Leading provider of Staff Absence Insurance for Schools with Whole School Wellbeing Services for Staff & Pupils. The SAS can be accessed by staff by either calling the relevant number shown, or by downloading the app to your phone or tablet. To gain access, you do not need to seek approval from any line manager or Headteacher. Once you submit your request for the relevant service, they will contact you via telephone within a few working days. Please see the link for more information https://schooladvice.co.uk/
To give you a little more insight into the SAS services, there is a short video presented by Dr Hilary Jones

 


Our Marches Academy Trust support team

“A listening ear”

Since the initial lockdown last March we have all experienced different emotions, different ways of working, communicating and living our day to day lives. Some people have sadly lost loved ones, some have felt the impact of loneliness, missing family and friends with whom contact has been limited. Both our immediate and extended family members may be struggling emotionally, children missing contact with family members and friends, yet still we have tried to be strong.
The fact that we still don’t know at this point when schools will be re-opening may be creating a new level of anxiety.


Marches Academy Trust wellbeing ambassadors

Amy Roberts is our Specialist Leader in Mental Health.

Amy is an Assistant Headteacher at The Grove. She has worked as a Mental Health Social Worker specialising in CAMHS transition and severe and enduring mental health diagnoses. She has experience in counselling and Cognitive Behavioural Therapy. Through her role as an SLE Amy will happily receive any enquiries in terms of support and guidance on the development of mental health practice in your school and across the Trust.
You can contact Amy at Amy.Roberts@gro.mmat.co.uk


Ears for Peers


Sharing how you feel with someone non-judgmental helps. Our EfPs are here to provide listening support to any member of staff who would like to talk about their wellbeing – possibly about coping with lockdown and the anxieties we are all facing.
Most of us have not needed someone outside our friends and family to talk to in the past. But things are different now and we can feel disconnected from those who are dear to us. Sometimes we don’t want to burden others with our worries as we know they are also feeling at a low ebb.
Your EfP in school is a friendly face and a listening ear. Someone who actively wants to support you. They are not counsellors but a fellow colleague who has volunteered and trained to be an essential part of our wellbeing programme.
You can contact them via email and arrange a virtual meeting or phone call.

School EFP Email
Grange Primary School Bethany Dean bethany.dean@gra.mmat.co.uk
Grange Primary School Natalie Heilbronn natalie.heilbronn@gra.mmat.co.uk
Grange Primary School Stephanie Oakley steph.oakley@gra.mmat.co.uk
The Grove School Linda Austin linda.austin@gro.mmat.co.uk
The Grove School Shaun Greenfield shaun.greenfield1@gro.mmat.co.uk
The Grove School Emma Rouse emma.sargent@gro.mmat.co.uk
Lower Heath CE Primary School Leah Vigon leah.vigon@low.mmat.co.uk
The Marches School Johannah Guttridge johanna.guttridge@mar.mmat.co.uk
The Marches School Carys Murray carys.murray@mar.mmat.co.uk
The Marches School Carl Hopley carl.hopley@mar.mmat.co.uk
Oakmeadow CE Primary School Naomi Lewis naomi.lewis@oak.mmat.co.uk
Shrewsbury Academy Lindsay Kelly lindsay.kelly@shr.mmat.co.uk
Shrewsbury Academy Michelle Marston michelle.marston@shr.mmat.co.uk
Shrewsbury Academy Anna Taylor anna.taylor@shr.mmat.co.uk
Shrewsbury Academy Sue Thomas susan.thomas@shr.mmat.co.uk
Sir John Talbot’s School Lesley Holmes lesley.holmes@sjt.mmat.co.uk
Sir John Talbot’s School Nia Price nia.price@sjt.mmat.co.uk
Tilstock CE Primary School Anita Thorp anita.thorp@til.mmat.co.uk
Longlands Primary School Sarah Morris sarah.morris@lon.mmat.co.uk
Longlands Primary School Sue Winfield sue.winfield@lon.mmat.co.uk

Needing a listening ear is not anything to be ashamed of or something to shy away from. It’s often easier to talk to someone outside your inner circle. We probably all need some time with an EfP right now.

“Give it a try…you might be pleasantly surprised how much better you feel.”

Cavelle Priestley-Bird

The role of an EfP Listener is to provide listening support to any member of staff who would like to talk about the impact of COVID19 on their wellbeing – coping with lockdown, returning to school or those having to stay at home.
If you are interested in joining the Ears for Peers team, or would like any further information, please do not hesitate to contact Helen Lloyd: lloyd.h@mmat.org.uk or Andrea Williams: Andrea.Williams@mmat.co.uk


As a Trust we offer

NOSS  01978 780479
The NOSS Counselling Services are accessible to all trust staff. Please ensure that your Headteacher knows that you will be taking up the 4 free sessions that all schools are offering.
NOSS: In a Nutshell – https://www.noss.uk.com/further-support/noss-resources
Helpline and Websites – https://www.noss.uk.com/further-support/links
Podcasts and Webinars – https://schooladvice.co.uk/webinar/

Occupational Health – referral

Occupational Health services can be accessed confidentially by requesting a referral with your line manager or headteacher. The referral form will be shared with you to gain your consent prior to being submitted to OH. OH will then contact you primarily by telephone to make an appointment. After your appointment, a report will be compiled with advisory guidance for your employer, again shared with you for consent, and then submitted to your referring manager. Any reasonable adjustments will then be addressed to support your circumstances.

Contact information

Medical Operations 01773 814 403

24/7 GP Helpline 0845 403 1037

Physiotherapy 01773 814 403

Counselling 01773 814 402

Cancer and Nurse Support 01773 814 404

The nurse support line can also be contacted to explore a range of complimentary therapies to support those with life-long conditions.